Error Reports Thread Aug 21, 2016 9:29:02 GMT
Post by someone on Aug 21, 2016 9:29:02 GMT
Thanks to feline1 and UrQuan for their answers.
Taking some of them into account, I suggest the following modifications (in the text or by footnotes) :
1) At 9-182
Written : "you cannot make use of a Weapon or Special Item during the first four rounds of combat."
To be written : you cannot make use of a Weapon, Weapon-like Special Item, or Shield during the first four rounds of combat.
At 12-102 : "Double all bonuses you would normally receive if you choose to use either Mindblast or Psi-surge during the combat."
At 12-114 : "Double all bonuses you would normally receive if you choose to use either Mindblast or Psi-surge during the combat."
At 12-307 : "double all bonuses you would normally receive if using Mindblast or Psi-surge during the combat."
At 14-318 : "double all bonuses you would normally be entitled to if you choose to employ psychic attacks during this combat."
There might be other sections like these ones.
To be written (quotation of 11-227) : "Double the effect of any psychic attacks you use during the combat."
3) To be added at 14-118, 17-132, 17-310 (there might be other sections like these ones) (quotation of 17-110) :
"Also, remember to apply all the appropriate bonuses whilst using the Sommerswerd against this undead enemy."
4) In the grid at 15-89 in the simpler on-line edition : "8" to be replaced by "80".
5) At 16-82
Written : "Erase from your Weapons List any hand weapons you possess"
To be added :
either : ", including hand Weapon-like Special Items."
or : ". It doesn't concern Weapon-like Special Items."
6) At Readers Handbook-Topical Guide-Safekeeping :
Written : "at the end of Book 16: The Legacy of Vashna not being accessible again until the beginning of Book 19: Wolf’s Bane."
To be written : "at the beggining of Book 17: The Deathlord of Ixia not being accessible again until Section 180 of Book 18: Dawn of the Dragons."
(Modification of "end of Book 16" to "beggining of Book 17" in order to be consistent with "Items in safekeeping may be reclaimed at the beginning of a book during the equipment selection process.")
7) Written at footnote 3 of Book 20 : "If you possess the Sommerswerd, Section 98 of Dawn of the Dragons suggests that you may be able to add 4 to your COMBAT SKILL when using it in the Plane of Darkness"
To be added : ", that is, for all fights in this Book"
To be removed : footnote 8 of Book 20
Footnote to be added at 18-344 : "If you possess the Sommerswerd, Section 98 suggests that you may be able to add 4 to your COMBAT SKILL when using it in the Plane of Darkness"
Footnote to be added at 19-162 : "If you possess the Sommerswerd, Section 98 of Dawn of the Dragons suggests that you may be able to add 4 to your COMBAT SKILL when using it in the Plane of Darkness"
8) At 19-304
Written : "This ratio takes account of all bonuses which may apply (e.g. Grand Weaponmastery with Sword, psychic attacks, and Special Items)."
To be added :
either : "If you have an Alether potion, you can use it in order to increase the Combat Ratio. In this case, cross it from your Action Chart."
or : "You cannot make use of an Alether Potion here."
But what about the (+1 EP) extra damage per successful round the Sun Lord Grand Weaponmastery could provide :
It cannot be taken into account prior to the fight.
Does this bonus also apply to Wolf's Bane, or to no one, or only to Lone Wolf ?
I don't yet know what to think about that one.
However, an official statement about it should be included.
9) At Equipment sections in Books 2, 3, and 4 and Readers Handbook-Topical Guide-Safekeeping :
feline1 said : "I think Joe's answer in Lone Wolf Newsletter No.7 is relevant here. Basically he pragmatically introduced more rules as the books went on, to cope with the ever-growing and unrealistic amount of 'goodies' Lone Wolf was amassing and carrying round. Really, in books 2, 3 and 4, you can't yet have found enough items to really stretch the bounds of credibility, and so wanting to leave some in "safekeeping" is a bit moot anyways! There's no need! I guess you can do if you want (it might be "Safekeeping at the Royal Armory in Holmgard" before the Monastery is rebuilt) but whether you do or don't isn't going to affect gameplay.
You can certainly carry any item at all (including Backpack Items) across from one book to the next, that much was made clear by later books asking if you had any Oede (only available in Book 5!)"
I don't agree with feline1 about that one because, at the begining of Book 4, you can already have enough potions for your Backpack to be overloaded.
So why carrying them : Lone Wolf is assumed to be a Kai Lord, not a mobile chemistry laboratory.
Why can he be wise enough to let some of these in safekeeping, since he can assume he will need room for other items ?
That is a logical reason for creating a precedence of safekeeping in Book 4, and for consistency reasons in previous books.
Proposal : Allowing the Safekeeping as a precedence rule in Books 2, 3, and 4.
10) At Readers Handbook-Topical Guide-Shield :
To be added (similar to Backpack) : "Realistically, you can only wear one Shield at a time."
11) At Readers Handbook-Topical Guide-Armour :
Written : "For example, if you are wearing a piece of armour that gives you a 4 ENDURANCE point bonus and your current ENDURANCE point score is less than or equal to 4, what happens if you lose or discard the armour?
Your ENDURANCE score has fallen to zero or below, so strictly speaking, you should be dead.
This doesn’t mesh well with reality, so use your best judgement."
To be added : "If you wish to avoid facing such a situation, you might consider than getting or discarding a piece of armour only changes your maximum ENDURANCE, without changing your current ENDURANCE at that time."
12) At Reader's Handbook-Topical Guide-Healing :
To be added : "You might feel you cannot use Healing in sections in which you are wouded, even if it is not during a fight".
13) At Reader's Handbook-Topical Guide-Healing :
To be added : "This ENDURANCE restoration is cumulative with those indicated in the sections you read."
14) At Equipment section of Book 2 :
Written : "If you are already carrying Weapons from Book 1, you can take this opportunity to exchange one or both of them."
To be added :
either : "That Weapon exchange doesn't count as an Item picking."
or : "That Weapon exchange count as an Item picking."